tokyo logo

Graduate student Darlene Hunter was named to the 2020 U.S. Women’s Wheelchair Basketball National Team, which will compete in this year's Paralympic Games in Tokyo.

Hunter is one of 12 athletes named to the final roster, which also includes alumnae Rose Hollermann, Abby Dunkin and Josie Aslakson.

Sophomore Elizabeth Becker was named as one of four alternates.

Fabian Romo, Movin’ Mavs senior, along with alumni Mike Paye, Jorge Sanchez and Aaron Gouge were named to the initial selection of athletes for the 2020 U.S. Men’s National Wheelchair Basketball Team in January. They will have a chance to earn one of 12 spots on the final Paralympic roster in the coming months.

Aside from Team USA, freshman Elodie Tessier, who represents Canada, and sophomore Annabelle Lindsay and Movin’ Mavs senior Clarence McCarthy-Grogan who represent Australia, are fighting for a roster spot in the Paralympic Games.

Both Canada and Australia have qualified for Tokyo, now it's just a matter of making the final cut.


Like our work? Don’t steal it! Share the link or email us for information on how to get permission to use our content.

Click here to report an accessibility issue.

Load comments